The Lord is my fortress

Psalms 91:1-2

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High
    will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
    my God, in whom I trust.”

Lord, let me cling onto this promise today. If I dwell (stay, live permanently) in Your shelter (Your word, your decrees, obey you), I will rest (peace, not worry about anything). Lord You are my refuge and my fortress.

Refuge, as in when there’s a storm or trials in life, I can hide in you. At the same time I dwell permanently in Your love and grace. Fortress, as in a castle built of stoned walls, so high and so strong that the enemies cannot get me. Let me be this strong. Let me seek refuge in You, let me dwell in You. Let me always obey You. I pray that I do not seek comfort or safety in people, relationships, money, possessions, governments or what not. Rather, let me hide in You. Let me be so hidden in You that I will feel safe, secure. Let my prince come to my rescue because You have given him the keys to Your fortress.

Leave a Reply

