If you love me, keep my commands.

John 14:15 NIV 

If you love me, keep my commands.

A: God expects me to obey Him. The measure of my love for Him is based on my obedience to His commands. God’s commands are the meant to prosper me and protect me so there shouldn’t be any issue obeying him.

C: And yet why is it so hard to obey sometimes? I admit that I don’t obey God 100%. It’s just impossible! How can I not lose temper when I am driving? Or pray for my enemies? How can i even love those who caused so much damage in my life?

But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,
Matthew 5:44 NIV
http://bible.com/111/mat.5.44.NIV

Obedience must be difficult because I don’t love him enough to obey him always. I am full of myself, wanting to be right all the time, feeling entitled.

T: I thank the Lord because obeying Him not only pleases Him but also brings blessings to myself. It’s amazing how God would reward me by obeying Him. His commands are already for my own good, and still there are blessings from obeying. Thank you for enabling me to obey. Thank you for not giving up on me despite of my insolence.

S: Lord enable me to love you so that I can better serve you. Change my heart, the direction of my desires, help me to please you alone. When faced with difficult choices, remind me that only one thing matters, I love you and I should obey you.

At the same time I cannot obey you if I don’t know your commands. And I cannot know your commands if I don’t read the bible or quench the Spirit. I have to be more intentional with my quiet time and obey the Holy Spirit’s prodding.

Leave a Reply

