Psalm 130:5—6. Excited anticipation.

Scripture – I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope. My soul waits for the Lord, more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning.

Observations – waiting for the Lord is not a passive task. It is putting my hope in his word. I cannot put my hope in something or someone I don’t know. Hence, waiting for the Lord means having a relationship with him and knowing what his promises are.

Why does it say, I put my hope in your word instead of I put my hope in you? Is it because the word/ promises is also God?

Hope here is about trusting God’s timing and deliverance without knowing when it’s gonna happen.

If the watchmen were excited to see the sun rise, my attitude with waiting on God should be even more excited. It is dark and yet they looked forward for the sunrise. They cannot control when the sun will rise, but they KNEW that it will rise and they looked forward to it. No matter how agitated they were, how excited they were, or no matter what they did, the sun will not rise faster. It will rise on it’s appointed time.

Application – do not force anything to happen. Instead, trust God in everything and look forward for his deliverance. It will come and he has asked me to trust him in his word. But to be able to trust God, I must know him and his word. Wait for the Lord and rely not on my own strength and effort. A new day will come when God commands the sun to rise again.

Leave a Reply

