Christ the Cornerstone

Heavenly Father, I am so grateful for this time that I can spend with You. Thank you for the freedom to study Your word. Thank you for waiting for me the whole day to spend time with You. Thank you because You want to spend time with me too. Father, I appreciate this time of singleness that I don’t have a spouse to take care of, or diapers to change, meals to cook. I can be completely Yours. Fully devoted. Full attention. I can lie on the bed and type. I can sit on my chair and think. I can do anything I want. What a wonderful privilege singleness is to be completely taking care of my relationship with You. Lord, give me wisdom as I study Your word. Help me to understand it the way You want me to understand it. Reveal to me things in my heart. Show me how I can glorify and honor and serve You through my Bible study. Open opportunities for me to share what I’ve learned. I love You! In Jesus’ name, Amen.


Ephesians 2:19-22

19 Consequently, therefore, you are no longer strangers and foreigners, but you are fellow citizens of the saints and members of the household of God,

20 built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone,[g] 21 in whom the whole building, joined together, grows into a holy temple in the Lord, 22 in whom you also are built up together into a dwelling place of God in the Spirit.[h]

Background: Jesus, having died for our sins, removed the enmity between Jews and gentiles. Salvation is now open to all. Jesus slew the enmity between Jews and gentiles by abolishing the law, through dying on the cross. We now have access to the Father through one Spirit.

Jesus’ death on the cross:

  • Opened salvation to all. Everyone is now welcome to partake in salvation. He didn’t die for the Jews alone, but for the gentiles as well. Therefore he died for the everyone who believes
  • Created a new family in the “household of God”. A person is no longer identified as a Jew or as a gentile
  • Provided full citizenship rights with Jesus as the head of the Church

The Trinity in God’s Church:

  • God – Church as God’s household
    • God is the architect as he carefully designed the church/ body of believers as seen in His divine plan for salvation and establishment of the church
  • Jesus – Foundation/Cornerstone of the Church
    • The cornerstone is the first stone laid out during construction. It sets the proper levelling and angle of the building. If the cornerstone was not set properly, the construction would fail. It was placed at the farthest corner of the edifice (in Greek, literally means “ἀκρογωνιαῖος” extreme + corner). The cornerstone was usually one of the largest, the most solid, and the most carefully constructed of any in the edifice.
    • Isaiah 28:16: Therefore the Lord Yahweh says this: “Look! I am laying a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone, a founded foundation: ‘The one who trusts will not panic.’
      • A tested stone – Jesus was tested on earth and yet did not sin. Having been tested and passed the tests, it is a sure, founded foundation.
      • A precious cornerstone – Jesus is God’s begotten son, therefore precious to God who is the builder
      • The one who trusts will not panic – being a firm cornerstone, there is nothing to fear for the building to collapse
    • The apostles and prophets became the instruments of building the church from the new and old testaments respectively. Jesus is the cornerstone (the first stone laid), and the succeeding foundations (next stones used as the base) were the prophets and apostles (old and new testaments prophecies and teachings) who were the first-hand recipients of God’s Word.
  • Holy Spirit – Dwells in the Church

The building of the worldwide Church was planned carefully a long time ago. God designed it perfectly with a firm foundation (Jesus) so that He (through the Holy Spirit) can dwell among us.

Being part of the best household and having the best privileges of this citizenship in Christ, am I inviting as much people as I can to join this wonderful family? Am I taking my spiritual family and my citizenship for granted? Am I honoring my brothers and sisters in Christ? Am I loving them as I should? Am I making full use of my citizenship in Christ? Do I live in confidence out of this Christian life, knowing that Jesus is the firmest, most stable, will-never-fail foundation?

I have to really  get out of my comfort zone to love my Church family and to invite more people into God’s household. Further, I should make use of my rights as God’s citizen by spending more quality time with God. As the previous verses said, I have an access to God through Jesus. When doubts, disappointments and doubts come, let me be reminded of my identity – I am God’s, Jesus is my foundation, the Holy Spirit dwells in me!

Leave a Reply

