How long will you grieve

1 Samuel 16:1

The LORD said to Samuel, “How long will you grieve over Saul, since I have rejected him from being king over Israel? Fill your horn with oil, and go. I will send you to Jesse the Bethlehemite, for I have provided for myself a king among his sons.”

1. How long will you grieve over ________

It is not a sin to grieve, but grieving too long over something not aligned with God’s will is not godly. God asked Samuel to stop grieving over someone he loves  because he has a bigger assignment from God and dwelling on the past, on a case already decided by God, is useless. We have to accept God’s plan and stop gloating over disappointments.

I have to move on and stop grieving over him because he isn’t in line with God’s will. Grieving over him rehashes pain unnecessarily.

2. Since I have rejected ________

Saul was rejected by God because of his disobedience to Him.

In the same way, God has rejected this person from being part of my life because he isn’t going to where I am supposed to go.

3. Fill the horn with oil and go.

Samuel has a new task, which is why it is essential that he stops grieving over Saul. Immediately, God told him to fill the horn with oil and go because he is annointing someone.

When God tells us to end one thing, He has a purpose for it. It also involves action. 

4.  I will send you to Jesse the Bethlehemite, for I have provided for myself a king among his sons.

God tells us to move on and to stop living in the past because He has something better in store that will glorify Him.
Samuel set aside his emotions to obey God. He himself provides the replacement for what we grieve over. But we have to obey Him first.

Leave a Reply

